Jaw alignment probl...

Jaw alignment problem  

RSS

Bashile
(@bashile)
New Member Enrolled
22/01/2019 2:49 am  

For about five years I've been clenching my jaw in my sleep. I've been wearing a splint every night for the past two years. This has stopped, but my molars eroding even further but don't stop the clenching. I feel muscular tension in my neck and shoulders. I often try to massage the jaw, which feels nice. I spoke to the dentist about it and he advised to reduce stress.

Some people said that Botox can help. But, I am worried whether it will cause muscle weakness and asymmetry in my face shape.

An orthodontist from Lexington once said that the only way to fix my overbite/jaw alignment is to undergo a tmj treatment.

I am worried whether this will become a big problem if the condition is left untreated. Please share your experiences!

Jonathan Shane ( IG: @theketoroad )
(@theketoroad)
Estimable Member Admin
22/01/2019 6:18 am  

@bashile , I personally I have no experience with lock jaw or your other symptoms. I hope someone in the forums can give you some advice 🙂 Have you seeked out professional help? 

ReplyQuote
AbbyBK
(@abbyb1885)
Reputable Member Moderator
22/01/2019 5:30 pm  

@bashile

I copied and pasted your question to my mom who has dealt with TMJ before and had a great doctor to help. I will paste verbatim what she wrote (bare with her, she's not a typer. lol) .......

Frist I wouldn't have any kind of surgery, never heard of Botox, from anyone that I saw. I think they need someone who specializes in TMJ, not a regular dentist,. Dr Seymour has a book he has written, I will send you a picture,